## 2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of the Government, although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time, while other members may be without portfolio.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and the dates of their tenures of office, together with the members of the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth Ministries, as on June 28, 1926, Aug. 31, 1926, and Feb., 1928, are given in Table 2.

## 2.-Ministries since Confederation.

Nove.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1913, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653.

1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873.

- 1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873.
  2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Premier. From Nov. 7, 1873 to Oct. 16, 1878.
  3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From Oct. 17, 1878 to June 6, 1891.
  4. Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott. Premier. From June 16, 1881 to Dec. 5, 1892.
  5. Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Premier. From Dec. 5, 1892 to Dec. 12, 1894.
  6. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell. Premier. From Dec. 21, 1894 to April 27, 1896.
  7. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Premier. From May 1, 1896 to July 8, 1896.
  8. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier. From July 11, 1896 to Oct. 6, 1911.
  9. Rt. Hon. Sir Debatt I. Berden Premier. Grosserwith Administration. 9. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Conservative Administration). From Oct. 10, 1911 to
- Oct. 12, 1917.
  10. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917 to July
- 10, 1920. Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Premier. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party"). From July 10, 1920 to Dec. 29, 1921.
   Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Dec. 29, 1921 to June 28, 1926.
   Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Premier. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
   Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Sept. 25, 1926.

## TWELFTH DOMINION MINISTRY.1

(According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet.)

Note.—Resignations of Ministers have been noted only in cases in which the office vacated has not been filled by subsequent appointment. Official dates of resignations are not available.

Office	Occupant.	Date of Appointment.
Prime Minister, Secretary of State for External Affairs, President of the Privy Council	Right Hon. William S. Fielding Hon. James A. Robb	Dec. 29, 1921 Dec. 29, 1921 Sept. 5, 1925 Dec. 29, 1921
Postmaster-General	Hon. Edward Maedonald	Aug. 17, 1923 Dec. 29, 1921 Dec. 29, 1921
partment of Health	Hon, Henri S. Béland Hon. John C. Elliott Hon. Hewitt Bostock Hon. James H. King	April 15, 1926 Dec. 29, 1921 Feb. 3, 1922
Minister of Justice and Attorney-General  Minister of Customs and Excise	Hon, Sir Lomer Gouin Hon, Ernest Lapointe Hon, Jacques Bureau Hon, George H. Boivin.	Jan. 30, 1924 Dec. 29, 1921

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Hon. Lucien Cannon was appointed Solicitor-General on Sept. 5, 1925, but was not a member of the Cabinet. <sup>2</sup>Acting Minister.